Is CT a No-Fault State?
After a car accident, you may be dealing with debilitating injuries, an inability to work, or costly auto damage. These consequences can put a strain on you, your family, and your finances. In turn, you may be looking to receive compensation from insurance.
Depending on where you live, your state’s car insurance laws—particularly no-fault or at-fault models—will dictate the insurance claims and compensation process.
So, is CT a no-fault state for car insurance?
While Connecticut used to be a no-fault state, its car insurance laws have changed. Below, we’ll outline everything you need to know about CT’s car accident laws and how hiring a car accident lawyer in Connecticut may help.
The Change in Connecticut’s Car Insurance Laws
Connecticut used to be a no-fault state for auto insurance. This meant that all Connecticut drivers sought compensation for damages from their own automobile insurance companies, regardless of who caused the accident. In a no-fault system, all drivers are required to carry a minimum amount of personal injury protection (PIP) insurance. They may also be restricted from filing personal lawsuits.
In 1994, Connecticut moved to an at-fault model for car insurance.
With this model, the fault must be established before any compensation is awarded. Drivers who are over 51% responsible for accidents must pay for the other parties’ damages through their insurance coverage. If damages exceed their coverage amounts, they can be sued for the rest personally.
Connecticut also uses a modified comparative negligence system, which means that drivers who are less than 51% at fault can still collect compensation. However, their compensation will be reduced according to their percentage of responsibility. For example, a driver deemed 30% at fault for an auto accident will only be able to recover 70% of their total damages.
What Are Connecticut’s Car Insurance Coverage Requirements?
Since Connecticut has become an at-fault state, residents no longer need to purchase personal injury protection (PIP) policies. Instead, the required insurance coverage minimums are as follows:
- $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person
- $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident
- $15,000 of property damage liability per accident
- $25,000 of uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) per person
- $50,000 of UM per auto accident
The first three liability policies can help you pay for other people’s damages if you cause a car accident, while your UM policies can cover your damages if you get into an accident with someone who doesn’t have adequate automobile insurance.
While these are the required minimums, having extra liability coverage can provide you with additional financial protection.
How Does Connecticut’s At-Fault Insurance Work?
Here’s what you’ll need to do to pursue compensation after a car accident in Connecticut:
- Call the police – After a motor vehicle accident, it’s important to call 911 so the police can file a report. While waiting for the police, you should swap names, insurance information, and driver’s license details with other affected parties. You may also want to take pictures and videos of any related property damage or injuries and take down the phone numbers of any witnesses.
- Allow fault to be determined through an investigation – Each of the driver’s insurance providers will hire an adjuster to determine who was at fault for the accident. These adjusters rely on objective evidence to make their determinations, such as pictures, videos, witness testimonies, police reports, and expert opinions.
- File a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company – Once the fault has been determined, you can file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company and initiate the process of receiving compensation. The statute of limitations in CT for car insurance claims is two years, so it's a good idea to file your claim as soon as possible and familiarize yourself with the average car accident settlement in CT.
- File a claim with your own insurance company – You can also file a claim with your own car insurance company if you were involved in a motor vehicle accident where your UM policy applies, or if you have PIP coverage, collision, or comprehensive coverage.
- File a personal lawsuit for additional damages – If the at-fault driver’s insurance policy doesn’t cover all of your damages, you can file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver to recoup the rest.
There are many complex steps involved in the Connecticut at-fault car insurance claims process. That’s why navigating them with proper legal representation is so beneficial.
Maneuver Connecticut’s At-Fault Insurance Process With Mighty
Car accidents can turn your life upside down, especially if you find yourself severely injured or unable to work. If you’re seeking prompt and fair relief, Mighty can make it happen.
As a lower-cost, technology-driven alternative to personal injury attorneys, we can help you get the legal support you deserve. Our mission is to fix what’s wrong with the personal injury industry, from profit-focused lawyers to stingy insurance companies. Mighty Law car accident attorneys represent you throughout the claims process, we’ll prioritize your best interests every step of the way.
Skip the billboard attorney, and focus on a holistic recovery after your Connecticut car accident—with Mighty by your side.
Connecticut General Assembly. No-Fault Automobile Insurance.
State of Connecticut Insurance Department. Automobile Coverage Information.
Nolo. Connecticut Car Accident Laws.
Written ByMaly Ohrenschall
VP of Customer Experience
About the author
Maly is a seasoned professional with over 15 years of experience in the insurance sector, specializing in multi-line claims and customer service for personal injury cases. As the leader of Mighty’s Client Experience team, she leverages her extensive background to ensure clients involved in auto accidents receive the highest level of care and support. Maly’s expertise plays a crucial role in delivering exceptional service and fostering long-lasting client relationships.
Lawyers That Have your Back
No strings attached for 60 days. 10% lower legal fees. 100% transparency.
Free Case Evaluations that accident victims can trust.
Injured in an accident? Only settle for a team that puts you first.